Oswaldkirk Village

Welcome to the official website of Oswaldkirk, sheltering at the foot of the North York Moors

Events - August/September


To submit your event click here

18 August Thursday

The Yorkshire Arboretum

Botanical Exhibition Preview 6.00 pm - 8.00 pm Members and friends are invited to a preview of the Botanical Exhibition. Meet the artists and enjoy complimentary refreshments. Free but booking required on 01653 648598

19 August Friday - 11 Sept. Sunday

The Yorkshire Arboretum

Botanical Exhibition 10.00 am - 4.30 pm Free

21 August Sunday

The Yorkshire Arboretum

Solar Gazing 12.00 am - 1.00 pm Learn about the sun and day-time sky under the guidance of the experts from York Astronomical Society. A free drop-in event (normal admission applies).

22 August Monday

The Yorkshire Arboretum

Arboretum Explorer’s Club - Active Learning Day 10.00 am - 3.00 pm A day of nature based activities for children aged 6-11, including orienteering, shelter building, owl pellet dissection and certificate making. £15 per child including lunch Booking essential on 01653 648598

25 August Thursday

Ampleforth Abbey 7.30pm

Harrogate Festival Chorus and Orchestra (Conductor Thom Meredith) Janacek’s Otcenas and Rossini’s Petite Messe Solenelle Tickets £15 (£12 concessions). On Entrance, or at Elijah Todd’s, Helmsley

3 September Saturday

Hovingham Village Market

10.30 am Hovingham Village Hall

7 September Wednesday

Ampleforth and District Gardening Club

7.30pm Ampleforth Village Hall. Peter and Helleentje Walker will give a talk on ‘Wack's Wicked Plants’

8 September Thursday

The Yorkshire Arboretum Gardens and Gardening Group

The Visitors Centre.7.30-9pm Harry Watkins talk: The Yorkshire Arboretum's Master Plan. Free,but donations welcome

10 September Saturday

The Yorkshire Arboretum

Star Gazing Evening 7.30 - 10.30pm Meet at the Visitors Centre. Adults £12 Children £7.50. Family (2+) £25 including Soup and sandwich. Booking essential. Ring 01653 648598

12 September Monday

Owls

Meet in the Malt Shovel at 7.30pm

16 September Friday

Oswaldkirk Harvest Festival

7pm St Oswald's Church. Oswaldkirk

19 September Monday

Oswaldkirk Book Club

8pm. Contact Gaynor 788046

25th September Sunday

Oswaldkirk Village Walk.

See website

25 September Sunday

Ryedale Natural History Society

Outdoor Meeting 10.00 am Crook Ness /Long Nab. Meet Jim Pewtress at TA025935